Basic Neuron object model docs, and workspace dump?

The basics of how to develop, test, and use models.
gwideman

Basic Neuron object model docs, and workspace dump?

Post by gwideman »

Folks: I'm new to neuron, but quite old at programming, using command line interpretersetc . And I have taken at least a tour through the docs.

1. Could someone please point me to where in the docs I might find a list of the objects that can be created (ie: via the create command), and a listing of their attributes?

2. Once created, what ui features or other methods are available for showing the current population of objects (in the workspace, or whatever neuron's equivalent is called), and their attributes and values?

(I was rather hoping for a simple tree view, in which I could get feedback on the current structure of the workspace, navigate to a particular object, browse its attributes and possibly set them, and so forth... )

3. From Neuron main menu, if I load a hoc file, play with it, close that window and attempt to open another hoc file, nothing happens. I have to quit and start from scratch -- is this expected behavior or is some setting messed up?

Thanks, Graham
ted
Site Admin

Re: Basic Neuron object model docs, and workspace dump?

Post by ted »

Good questions. They are answered in the following chapters of The NEURON Book:
5. Representing neurons with a digital computer
6. How to build and use models of individual cells
12. hoc, NEURON's interpreter
13. Object-oriented programming
What follows is a brief summary that I hope will be useful while you wait for your order
to arrive (you did order it, right?).
1. Could someone please point me to where in the docs I might find a list of the objects that can be created (ie: via the create command), and a listing of their attributes?
A little history and terminological clarity will be helpful here.

hoc as defined originally by Kernighan and Ritchie was a simple interpreted language