Creating my own section variables?

Anything that doesn't fit elsewhere.
Post Reply
gabrielleg
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 11:31 am

Creating my own section variables?

Post by gabrielleg »

Hi,

I'm trying to find out how to make my own section variable (or something like it). I would like to specify a different Cm for each section in order to get area out of it. I don't want to use L and diam to get area.

I'm building a 2 compartment model of a cell and will eventually make a small network of these 2 compartment cells. They will all have different Cm's and therefore different areas. The Cm's are what is given to me, as well as total conductances. So as you can see, I don't want to sit around calculating the L and diam for each cell and have to pass area to the .mod files in order to calculate the proper distributed conductances. What can I do?

g
gabrielleg
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 11:31 am

Post by gabrielleg »

I found a way around my issue. I guess I didn't need a section variable. But out of curiosity, is it possible to create your own section variables?

g
ted
Site Admin
Posts: 6384
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Yale University School of Medicine
Contact:

Re: Creating my own section variables?

Post by ted »

gabrielleg wrote:I'm building a 2 compartment model of a cell and will eventually make a small network of these 2 compartment cells. They will all have different Cm's and therefore different areas. The Cm's are what is given to me, as well as total conductances.
Assuming that each compartment is represented by a section with nseg == 1, the idiom is

Code: Select all

sectionname {
  cm = totalC / area(0.5)
  gbar_mechanismsuffix = totalG / area(0.5)
}
which of course omits any scale factors that might be needed to reconcile units (cm is in
uf/cm2, area() in um2, and S/cm2 is standard for conductance densities, but for all I know
your total capacitance and conductance parameters might be in farads and micromhos).
ted
Site Admin
Posts: 6384
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Yale University School of Medicine
Contact:

Post by ted »

gabrielleg wrote:is it possible to create your own section variables?
Sure. Revise NEURON's source code. But you'll be responsible for debugging and
maintaining your own variant.
Post Reply