Page 1 of 1
Create an executive file from hoc file
Posted: Mon May 29, 2006 9:51 am
by Snake Eater
Hello, Can I create an executive file (.exe or .bat) from hoc file?
I want use the result of my simulation in my power point presentation. If I try to use directly the .hoc file that call Neuron (and if in the .hoc file there is an instruction that recall another file) does not work!!
Excuse for my bad english!!
Re: Create an executive file from hoc file
Posted: Mon May 29, 2006 11:31 am
by ted
Snake Eater wrote:Can I create an executive file (.exe or .bat) from hoc file?
No, and that's not the way to do this anyway.
I want use the result of my simulation in my power point presentation.
It is easiest to just grab a bitmap image. There are lots of ways to do this
under MSWin. I like a program called Hypersnap, but there are many others.
If I try to use directly the .hoc file that call Neuron (and if in the .hoc file there is an instruction that recall another file) does not work!!
Do you want to be able to click on something in your PowerPoint presentation,
and have that launch a live simulation?
Re: Create an executive file from hoc file
Posted: Mon May 29, 2006 5:11 pm
by Snake Eater
ted wrote:
Do you want to be able to click on something in your PowerPoint presentation,and have that launch a live simulation?
Exactly. If I simple link an object (in my power point presentation) to .hoc file, Neuron is not able to load geometry file
that is necessary in my simulation.
Posted: Mon May 29, 2006 5:53 pm
by Raj
You can start neuron from a windows batch file myDemo.bat with the hoc-file of choice as an argument. Make a hyperlink point from powerpoint to this batch file and you are in business:
myDemo.bat:
Code: Select all
@echo off
cd "myFullHocPath"
C:\ProgramFiles\nrn58\bin\neuron.exe myHoc.hoc
Posted: Mon May 29, 2006 6:28 pm
by Snake Eater
Code: Select all
@echo off
cd "myFullHocPath"
C:\nrn58\bin\neuron.exe myHoc.hoc
Raj, you are great!!!
Now It's all ok! This is not the first time that yo save me.
Bye :)
Posted: Tue May 30, 2006 10:07 am
by ted
Excellent. I have just taken the liberty of adding it to the list of Hot tips
https://www.neuron.yale.edu/phpBB2/view ... =1359#1359
Thanks again, Raj!
Posted: Wed May 31, 2006 2:54 am
by Snake Eater
Hey Ted, the default path of Neuron is
not
Posted: Wed May 31, 2006 9:00 am
by ted
I assumed that Raj's example is drawn from his own installation and just
copied it verbatim. But perhaps I should change the tip in case some users
find that confusing.
Posted: Wed May 31, 2006 9:01 am
by ted
I assumed that Raj's example is drawn from his own installation and just
copied it verbatim. But perhaps I should change the tip in case some users
find that confusing.
Posted: Wed May 31, 2006 10:23 am
by Raj
It is drawn from my own installation. Considering the length of the script, making the necessary changes cannot not pose a real problem.