Page 1 of 1
How to use a fixed time-step in Python?
Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 5:59 pm
by Yaeger
How do you use a run method with a fixed time-step in python?
Re: How to use a fixed time-step in Python?
Posted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 11:06 am
by ted
I like to use NEURON's own standard run library, instead of trying to reinvent it in Python. Also, even though I may be using NEURON as a Python module, I still like to use NEURON's GUI tools for model development and debugging. Consequently, my scripts typically start with
Importing NEURON's gui module loads the standard run library and automatically brings up the NEURON Main Menu toolbar. If I don't want to see the toolbar, I start with these two lines instead
Code: Select all
from neuron import h
h.load_file("stdgui.hoc") # doesn't bring up the NEURON Main Menu toolbar
Then, after my model specification, instrumentation, and simulation flow control code has been executed, I can
Code: Select all
h.dt = whatever_time_step_I_want
h.tstop = whatever_simulation_duration_I_want
h.run() # execute a simulation with my specified time step and simulation duration
Re: How to use a fixed time-step in Python?
Posted: Fri Mar 15, 2019 6:20 pm
by Yaeger
Thank you Ted!