synaptic input

Anything that doesn't fit elsewhere.
Post Reply
pa1kumar
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 3:51 pm

synaptic input

Post by pa1kumar »

Hii,

I have a set of data which is my input, in a vector and i want to connect it to the cell through a synapse. I have my vector say v3 in a hoc file named say input.hoc

Now i want to give the data from the vector v3 as an input to the cell through the synapse in the other hoc file say main.hoc. I was wondering whether there is any way to implement this.
Is it necessary to have the v3 in a mod file to give it as an input or is there a way to do it with the hoc files itself.

I appreciate any help regarding this matter.
Thank you
Pavan
ted
Site Admin
Posts: 6384
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Yale University School of Medicine
Contact:

Post by ted »

What kind of data--discrete event times (times of synaptic activation), or
sampled time course of current, voltage, or synaptic conductance?
pa1kumar
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 3:51 pm

Post by pa1kumar »

The data is a binary white noise signal whose power spectrum rolls of at 2hz. I have got that program in a hoc file and stored the data in a vector.

Pavan
ted
Site Admin
Posts: 6384
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Yale University School of Medicine
Contact:

Post by ted »

Very interesting.

Assuming "vector" is an instance of the Vector class, all you need to do is to
use the Vector class's play() method to force whatever variable you wish
to follow the time course. As long as it makes sense, that is--avoid negative
conductances, or nonpositive resistances.

On the FAQ page
http://www.neuron.yale.edu/neuron/faq/general-questions
see this item:
SEClamp and IClamp just deliver rectangular step waveforms. How can I make them produce an arbitrary waveform, e.g. something that I calculated or recorded from a real cell?

Let me know if you have any further questions about this.
Post Reply