dropdown menu

Using the graphical user interface to build and exercise models. Includes customizing the GUI by writing a little bit of hoc or Python
Post Reply
srikanth_rswamy
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:37 pm
Location: Lausanne

dropdown menu

Post by srikanth_rswamy »

'm trying to build a GUI for synaptic diagnostics. Basically, what I'm trying to do is to have a GUI with the following parameters:
1. NetworkPath (displays the network path for my simulation)
2. Total no. of neurons (displays the total no. of neurons in my network)
3. MorphPath (displays the morphology path for the neurons)
4. CellPath (displays the .hoc files for all inhibitory and excitatory neurons in the neocortex)
5. SelectDestinationNeuron (This is the postsynaptic neuron on which various synapses converge)
6. layer (the various cortical layers)
7. MorphType (the various morphological classes of neurons)
8. ElectricalType (the various electrical classes)
9. ShowConnectedNeurons (shows all the presynaptic neurons converging on the destination neuron)

I would like to have a dropdown menu for all the above parameters, but using xvalue does not serve the pupose completely, as values can just be incremented or decremented using xvalue.

What function do I need to use to have a dropdown menu in my .hoc code?

Thanks
Srikanth
ted
Site Admin
Posts: 6300
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Yale University School of Medicine
Contact:

Post by ted »

AFAIK only the NEURON Main Menu toolbar offers dropdown menus.
srikanth_rswamy
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:37 pm
Location: Lausanne

Post by srikanth_rswamy »

thanks for the note. however, is there a way of choosing a file from a display window, say for instance something similar to the load hoc/load session functions under the File tab? this might perhaps be a workaround for what I'm looking to incorporate.

Thanks
Srikanth
hines
Site Admin
Posts: 1691
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 3:32 pm

Post by hines »

See http://www.neuron.yale.edu/neuron/stati ... html#xmenu
You are interested in the xpanel("menubar") ... xpanel()
fragment
srikanth_rswamy
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 12:37 pm
Location: Lausanne

Post by srikanth_rswamy »

Albeit not exactly a dropdown menu, the file chooser interface .chooser seems to work in a way. At least it offers a way to choose files.
Post Reply