A question about "set nseg for cable"

The basics of how to develop, test, and use models.
boboppie

A question about "set nseg for cable"

Post by boboppie »

Dear ted,

I'm a beginner of NEURON, and I have a question about how to find a proper nseg value for an axon.

Here the length of my passive cable is L = 100, g_pas = 0.00005. The diameter will vary between 0.01 and 1. Each segment should be shorter than lambda/20. (lambda is the electrotonic length). Others are default values.

First, according to "lambda = sqrt(r_m*diam/(4*Ra))", r_m = 1/g_pas, than I get the nseg should between 3 and 17.

I'm not sure if I get the right answer?

Please help me

ted
Site Admin

Post by ted »

The diameter will vary between 0.01 and 1.
0.01 to 1 micron? For such a wide range of diameters, it would be best to represent the
cable with several sections. Are you using morphometric cata, e.g. from Neurolucida, in
which diameter varies irregularly over the length of the axon, or is this a "theoretician's
axon" that is conceived as a series of cylinders or conical frustae?
Each segment should be shorter than lambda/20.
DC length constant is a useful guide for spatial discretization only if you are interested in
steady state (DC) signals, and don't care about signals that vary with time. Otherwise,
discretization should be based on AC length constant. Read about the d_lambda rule here:
Hines, M.L. and Carnevale, N.T. NEURON: a tool for neuroscientists.
The Neuroscientist 7:123-135, 2001.
which is available from a link at
http://www.neuron.yale.edu/neuron/bib/nrnpubs.html

Also, if you are interested in membrane potential at the midpoint of any section, be sure to
use an odd value for nseg.
boboppie

Post by boboppie »

Dear Ted,

Thank you for replay.