Linking hoc-mod NEURON 7.1 ubuntu

Post Reply
OJAG
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:46 am
Location: Bogota

Linking hoc-mod NEURON 7.1 ubuntu

Post by OJAG »

HI all,

I I am right, to run a simulation on linux I have to complie mod files using nrnivmodl (anywhere with all my mod files) and then copy the x86_64 folder (with the succesfully created special file inside) to the directory where my .hoc is placed.

Well, I am doing that and my simulation can't find the compiled mods?

and instead of that I normally get this message

Code: Select all

oscarjav001@OJAVELLA-PC-VU:~/Escritorio/Network_codes/main$ nrniv functions_net_bgk_multitest_sparse.hoc 
NEURON -- Release 7.1 (359:7f113b76a94b) 2009-10-26
Duke, Yale, and the BlueBrain Project -- Copyright 1984-2008
See http://www.neuron.yale.edu/credits.html

        1 
        1 
        1 
nrniv: syntax error
 in FS_WT_modif.tem near line 46
                insert  KPyr
              ^
        xopen("FS_WT_modif.tem")
      execute1("{xopen("FS_WT_modif.tem")}")
    load_file("../templates/FS_WT_modif.tem")
        0 
nrniv: Segmentation violation
 in FS_WT_modif.tem near line 47
                gbar_KPyr=GK_pyr_s    
                             ^


which clearly occurs because the mechanism haven't been found or not?

Any clue is wellcome; by the way
Is this the right way to link hoc and mod files on linux??

Thanks in advance

OJAG

p.s I am running everything in a multicore system of 64 bits
OJAG
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:46 am
Location: Bogota

Re: Linking hoc-mod NEURON 7.1 ubuntu

Post by OJAG »

Any Idea??
Last edited by OJAG on Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
OJAG
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:46 am
Location: Bogota

Re: Linking hoc-mod NEURON 7.1 ubuntu

Post by OJAG »

The answer to my problem was here http://www.neuron.yale.edu/phpBB/viewto ... f=4&t=1165

by ted » Mon Jan 28, 2008 10:36 am
I use Linux and occasionally MSWin, but one of the following suggestions may help:

Are you launching nrngui from the command line in a terminal, or from the GUI?

Under UNIX/Linux, when nrngui is started from the command line, NEURON will
automatically detect the existence of an i686 directory in the current working directory,
and load the compiled mechanisms.

Under any OS, if you are launching nrngui from the GUI, then click on
NEURON Main Menu / File / working dir

(..)
to get a tool that you can use to navigate to the directory that contains the i686 directory.
The mechanisms will then be loaded. Also, the next time you start nrngui, you can jump
right to that directory by
NEURON Main Menu / File / recent dir
and selecting one of the displayed paths.
(..)
Post Reply