Using NetCon where voltage is not the threshold variable

Particularly useful chunks of hoc and/or NMODL code. May be pedestrian or stunningly brilliant, may make you gasp or bring tears to your eyes, but always makes you think "I wish I had written that; I'm sure going to steal it."
Robert Claar

Using NetCon where voltage is not the threshold variable

Post by Robert Claar »

Hello,

I am an incoming graduate student building a model of a network of endocrine cells and how the hormones they secrete affect each other. Using the NetCon object seemed like a great way to connect the different cell types and weight the connections. I want the cells to read the hormone concentration coming from the other cells at each time step, but this is problematic since the NetCon object has a threshold argument that must be crossed. In my case it is not a voltage that must be crossed for the connection to be made as in a synapse. As of now my lab partner and I have created a dummy variable that oscillates above and below our set threshold so that we can accomplish this, but I was wondering if there was a built in way to do this other than NetCon or if we aren't using NetCon to it's fullest potential for this purpose? Any help is appreciated!
ted
Site Admin

Re: Using NetCon where voltage is not the threshold variable

Post by ted »

The NetCon class is useful for spike-triggered synaptic communication, in which it is often reasonable to assume that presynaptic details can be ignored. Signaling that is continuous in time cannot be properly represented with a NetCon. Continuous transmitter release can be implemented with NMODL's POINTER feature, but that is more suitable for interactions between pairs of specific cells.