Saving Files in Multiple Run

Using the Multiple Run Fitter, praxis, etc..
Post Reply
Albero
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 4:03 am

Saving Files in Multiple Run

Post by Albero » Fri May 04, 2012 4:06 am

Hi,

I need to run multiple simulations in a for loop, how can i make the next output files not overwrite the previous?

Thanks

ted
Site Admin
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Yale University School of Medicine
Contact:

Re: Saving Files in Multiple Run

Post by ted » Fri May 04, 2012 11:07 am

Easiest is to use sprint to construct the file name string. For an example, go to http://www.neuron.yale.edu/neuron/docs and read through the tutorial on Dealing with simulations that generate a lot of data. ModelDB probably has many entries that do similar things with sprint.

Albero
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2012 4:03 am

Re: Saving Files in Multiple Run

Post by Albero » Mon May 07, 2012 8:31 am

Done.

Thanks for your help.

Raj
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 1:09 pm
Location: Hanze University of Applied Sciences
Contact:

Re: Saving Files in Multiple Run

Post by Raj » Fri May 11, 2012 12:03 pm

I wrote code specially for this purpose it is available with documentation and example code at
http://senselab.med.yale.edu/modeldb/Sh ... del=114359

ted
Site Admin
Posts: 5624
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Yale University School of Medicine
Contact:

Re: Saving Files in Multiple Run

Post by ted » Fri May 11, 2012 12:13 pm

Hi, Raj. Would that be the code in the mrc subdirectory? (MultipleRunControl.hoc and related files) I haven't tried it yet, but it seems to offer a GUI for convenient specification of protocols and even which variables to save. This looks like something that would be a welcome addition to SimToolDB https://senselab.med.yale.edu/SimToolDB/; I'll see if we can do that. Thanks for making it available!

Raj
Posts: 219
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 1:09 pm
Location: Hanze University of Applied Sciences
Contact:

Re: Saving Files in Multiple Run

Post by Raj » Fri May 11, 2012 12:25 pm

Yes, it is in the hoc/mrc directory.
At the time I invested quite some time to get it documented and to provide working examples. Exposure at SimToolDB makes it more likely this effort pays off. It would be very welcome if it became available there.

Post Reply