Best practices for cell template

The basics of how to develop, test, and use models.
dave_arthurs

Best practices for cell template

Post by dave_arthurs »

Hi,

I'm very new to neuron, having just gone through the tutorial by Gillies and Sterratt (http://www.anc.ed.ac.uk/school/neuron/). I'm trying to build a complex neural network that has multiple neuron types. For each neuron, I would like to have both a constant injected current (IClamp) and also a Poisson synaptic input (NetStim object connecting to an ExpSyn).

My question is, what are the best practices for doing this? Since each neuron will have its own Poisson source, it would make sense to me to stick these in the cell template as below. This seems to work; however, I wasn't able to find any examples of code online with people doing this, so I was wondering if it is taboo in NEURON for some reason. For example, could there perhaps be issues with the Poisson events not being independent?

Last question: Is there any way to avoid setting pp.number = 1e9, and instead just force the NetStim to just spike indefinitely?

Thanks a lot!

Dave

Code: Select all

begintemplate LTS_L5cell
	public soma, nclist, ncpp

create soma
	objectvar nclist

// for Poisson input
	objref pp, ncpp
	objectvar ppsyn

proc init() {

create soma

nclist = new List()

soma {
	      nseg = 1
	      diam = 18.8 //these values shouldn't matter
	      L = 18.8    //these values shouldn't matter
	      insert hh_in
	      ena = 50					//From Lee 2013
	      ek = -95					//From Lee 2013
              gnabar_hh_in = 0.100 
	      gkbar_hh_in = 0.080

insert pas
	      e_pas=-67					//From Lee 2013
              g_pas = 0.0001		//From Lee 2008

insert KM
              gkmbar_KM = 0.004

cm=1.0                 // units uF/cm2
	    }

// Poisson input soma
		ppsyn = new ExpSyn(0)

// for Poisson input
	    pp = new NetStim(.5)
		pp.interval = 10
		pp.number = 1e9			//hack - better way to do this?
		pp.start = 10
		pp.noise = 1