sodium ion accumulation without diffusion

The basics of how to develop, test, and use models.
ipv1313

sodium ion accumulation without diffusion

Post by ipv1313 »

Hello all.,

I am a complete beginner to NEURON. I am trying to implement a cell with voltage-gated sodium, calcium, and potassium channels. I have inserted pumps and now focussing on managing ion diffusion across the membrane. I came across this mechanism on modelDB. https://senselab.med.yale.edu/ModelDB/s ... mod#tabs-2

Code: Select all

TITLE Sodium ion accumulation without diffusion

NEURON {
	SUFFIX nabalan
	USEION na READ ina WRITE nai
	RANGE nainit,f
}

UNITS {
	(mM) = (milli/liter)
	(um) = (micron)
	FARADAY = (faraday) (coulomb)
	PI = (pi) (1)
}

PARAMETER {
        nainit = 0.8 (mM) 
        f = 2.00
}

ASSIGNED {
	ina (milliamp/cm2)
	diam (um)
}

STATE {
	nai (mM) <1e-4>
}

BREAKPOINT {
	SOLVE state METHOD sparse
}

INITIAL{
        nai=nainit
}

KINETIC state {
	COMPARTMENT PI*diam*diam/4 {nai}
	~ nai << (-f*ina*PI*diam*(1e4)/(FARADAY))

What is 'f' here and how can I decide the initial concentration here, when the initial sodium internal concentration is 10 mM?
ted
Site Admin

Re: sodium ion accumulation without diffusion

Post by ted »

Beats me. Why does the model initialize nai to 0.8 mM? What do the model's authors say about these oddities?
ted
Site Admin

Re: sodium ion accumulation without diffusion

Post by ted »

In case anyone else is curious, here's a little gift for the holidays.

The source code that prompted ipv1313's questions is associated with the paper

Kuznetsova AY, Huertas MA, Kuznetsov AS, Paladini CA, Canavier CC (2010)
Regulation of firing frequency in a computational model of a midbrain dopaminergic neuron.
J Comput Neurosci 28:389-403