Extracellular Stim using python and/or xtra.mod

Anything that doesn't fit elsewhere.
gabrielggn

Extracellular Stim using python and/or xtra.mod

Post by gabrielggn »

Dear colleagues,

I am quite new at NEURON programming and I'm a python programmer if I can say that. I am currently working in the field of transcranial stimulation and I am interested by the capabilities of NEURON to predict the effect of extracellular stimulation on complex geometrical neurons to predict/ understand neuromodulation.

For know I'm just doing basics and I write some code to reproduced the results from 10.1113/jphysiol.2012.247171 using the e_extracellular mechanism. The results of my script have deviations and I don't know if I'm doing it properly using python. In fact I set the values of e_extracellular in each segment but not using any waveform ( and so the play function of NEURON). But visualizing the v and e_extracellular recorded at soma it seems to work (at least as a DC stimulation). You can find the associated script here https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Ppzisw ... sp=sharing.

In a second time I tried to use the xtra.mod file (that I've compiled) and seems to work at the invocation but when I run the script, nothing happen. If I look the recorded e_extracellular at soma it is 0 all the long while I entered the desired voltage at rx_xtra and use a signal with ones all the time. Here are the lines :
I first load xtra using the following function

Code: Select all

def load_xtra(self):
        for sec in self.all:
            sec.insert('xtra')
        h.load_file(1,"interpxyz.hoc")    #only interpolates sections that have extracellular
        h.load_file(1,"setpointers.hoc")  #automatically calls grindaway() in interpxyz.hoc        

Then I add my value to rx_xtra using

def apply_Eext_uniform_xtra(self, E0):
        """
        Trying to apply extracellular stim with xtra mechanism
        """
        for sec in self.all:
            x_c = sec(0.5).x_xtra