Import json format of morphology to NetPyNE

A Python package that facilitates development and use of models of biological neural networks

Moderator: tom_morse

Javad

Import json format of morphology to NetPyNE

Post by Javad »

Hi everyone,

I am new to NetPyNE and I have a question. Your help is appreciated!

I have a morphology in json format and I would like to read directly from NEURON. I am just wondering if netpyne package has this ability to do that for me? I know from NEURON I can read swc format of morphology, but I'd like to import json format directly to NEURON or using netpyne if possible.

Thank you for your help!

Javad
salvadord

Re: Import json format of morphology to NetPyNE

Post by salvadord »

Hi Javad,

Thanks for your question. So the file format is .json but what is the data structure that the morphology is stored in? e.g is it a dictionary of sections with 3d pts, does it follow a similar structure to swc? Perhaps you can share the file to get a better idea.

NetPyNE can import morphologies from hoc templates, python cell classes, or instantiated NEURON cells. It can also import morphologies previously stored using the NetPyNE data structure. But I don't think any of these work for you case. I see 2 options:

1) Figure out how to import into NEURON (similar to how you generate a hoc file from a swc), and then import that cell into NetPyNE via netParams.importCellParams()

2) Write a script that directly converts the morphology from the json file to NetPyNE's format, i.e. populate a netParams.cellParams rule. Since NetPyNE also uses json-like format, this might be relatively easy (dependng on your Python coding skills).

Hope this helps
Salva
ted
Site Admin

Re: Import json format of morphology to NetPyNE

Post by ted »

After you import morphology data, always examine a Shape plot of the resulting model cell for three possible problems: