how to export data from NEURON

Moderator: wwlytton

KG_UIUC

how to export data from NEURON

Post by KG_UIUC »

My problem is I am new to NEURON and neuroscience. I need your help with two things.

1. I need to know the reference which can explain me what output is generated(membrane potential, spike plot, sodium current) from modelling of a network has a physical meaning.

2. I am able to create a gui for a spinal cord which 2 Right cell and 2 left cells connected through inhibitory and excitatory synapses and receives the stimulus from artifical neuron.

What I want to know, how to go from this stage to export membrane potential data and spike plot data for cells as .dat file

and if I have to increase the number of cells, what should I change in .hoc code which is generated automatically form gui.
ted
Site Admin

Re: how to export data from NEURON

Post by ted »

KG_UIUC wrote:I need to know the reference which can explain me what output is generated(membrane potential, spike plot, sodium current) from modelling of a network has a physical meaning.
The sentence is broken so I don't understand it. Did you accidentally leave out one or more words? Or maybe you meant to write two shorter sentences? If you need general background information about NEURON, try reading chapters 5 and 6 of The NEURON Book, or read
Hines, M.L. and Carnevale, N.T.
The NEURON simulation environment.
Neural Computation 9:1179-1209, 1997
which is available from links at http://www.neuron.yale.edu/neuron/nrnpubs
how to go from this stage to export membrane potential data and spike plot data for cells as .dat file
See
Exporting data generated by a simulation
viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1222
if I have to increase the number of cells, what should I change in .hoc code which is generated automatically form gui.