Simulating intermittent barrage of network activity

Moderator: wwlytton

pascal

Simulating intermittent barrage of network activity

Post by pascal »

I have inherited some code in which a network of 100 neurons receives a barrage of external stimulation at randomly-selected intervals (this is meant to simulate epileptic activity). The problem is that the code currently stores the time of every single externally-supplied synaptic event in a vector before the numerical integration, which results in the program running out of memory very quickly. I need to modify the code to eliminate these memory issues. I've read the post about using vecevent (http://www.neuron.yale.edu/phpBB/viewto ... eive#p5088), but I don't think this is useful in my case because my code already stores just event times (as opposed to a vector of 0's and 1's for each time step), and it still has memory issues.

So it seems that the best thing to do is generate noise events "on the fly." I'm new to NEURON, so I coded up a very simple network of just one biophysical neuron driven by one NetStim "neuron," and I tried to see if I could get the NetStim neuron to activate at two different times which I specified in the course of integration, so that my run() procedure looks like this (cells.object(1) is the NetStim cell):

Code: Select all

proc run(){
   stdinit()
   continuerun(3000)
   cells.object(1).pp.start = 3001
   continuerun(tstop)
   showraster()
}
The NetStim template looked like this:

begintemplate NetStim_NetStim
public pp, connect2target, x, y, z, position, is_art
objref pp
proc init() {
  pp = new NetStim()
    pp.start = 1000
    pp.number = 100
    pp.noise = 0.5
}
func is_art() { return 1 }
obfunc connect2target() { localobj nc
  nc = new NetCon(pp, $o1)
  if (numarg() == 2) { $o2 = nc }
  return nc
}
proc position(){x=$1  y=$2  z=$3}
endtemplate NetStim_NetStim
so you can see that originally the NetStim object started stimulating the biophysical neuron at t=1000 ms.