Page 1 of 1

Bug in MulRunFitter patch from Aaron Luchko

Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 2:37 pm
by Keivan
After I've update my neuron to latest development update, it behave buggy. during iteration everything goes well (neuron can find optimized parameter), but after iterations neuron report initial (starting) parameters.

Re: Bug in MulRunFitter patch from Aaron Luchko

Posted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 8:36 pm
by hines
Glad you found that so quickly. The fix is in
http://www.neuron.yale.edu/hg/neuron/nr ... 8cf9af38b9

Re: Bug in MulRunFitter patch from Aaron Luchko

Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2010 2:36 pm
by Keivan
Thank you for the fix.It works.

Is there a way to download patch instead of using hg clone command?

Re: Bug in MulRunFitter patch from Aaron Luchko

Posted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 3:01 pm
by Keivan
I found another bug: "number of runs" do not reset with each press of "optimize" button.
Also, a feature I miss in the previous version was the amount of minimum error reported in the console. Because, GUI rounds the error and make it impossible to track slight changes in the error (to prevent local minimums).

Re: Bug in MulRunFitter patch from Aaron Luchko

Posted: Fri Dec 10, 2010 6:49 pm
by hines
Those are fixed in
http://www.neuron.yale.edu/hg/neuron/nr ... a2efe63148
You can get a patch (without having hg) by viewing the above url, selecting "raw",
copying the page to a file on your machine and then executing in the
nrn source directory:
patch -p 1 < patch_file_you_created

Re: Bug in MulRunFitter patch from Aaron Luchko

Posted: Sat Dec 11, 2010 12:36 am
by Keivan
Thanks a lot

Re: Bug in MulRunFitter patch from Aaron Luchko

Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 3:21 pm
by Keivan
I use multirun-fitter in parallel mode. when I press stop button or at the end of fitting , one cpu core remain active.

also, in gentoo linux I receive this error:

Code: Select all

 "X Error of failed request: BadDrawable (invalid Pixmap or Window parameter)
Further messages for error code 9 will not be shown"
also, I can't run my previous session files.
error:

Code: Select all

nrniv: Expecting string argument
 in MRFGoldSigReal.ses near line 30
 opt.set_optimizer(new MulfitPraxWrap(p.pf))
                                            ^
        OptimizerWrap[0].set_optimizer(...)
      xopen("MRFGoldSigReal.ses")
    execute1("{xopen("MRFGoldSigReal.ses")}")
  load_file("MRFGoldSigReal.ses")
        0 
/home/keivan/neuron/nrn/x86_64/bin/nrniv: syntax error
 in MRFGoldSigReal.ses near line 31
 {object_push(opt.optimizer)}
^

Re: Bug in MulRunFitter patch from Aaron Luchko

Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 7:56 am
by hines
Edit your session file and replace:
opt.set_optimizer(new MulfitPraxWrap(p.pf))
with
opt.set_optimizer("MulfitPraxWrap")

With regard to the multirun-fitter in parallel mode, I'm confused about how you are launching NEURON.
Years ago when I switched from PVM to MPI, I've never run an interactive parallel job but
have been restricted to batch mode.
In fact the -mpi arg turns off the gui. Whenever I see the "|| Optimize" button I think that I should remove
it until the question of running an interactive MPI job is resolved. I think what I will do is check to
see if the value of ParallelContext.nhost() == 1 during the creation of the MultipleRunFitter GUI and
if so, NOT create the "|| Optimize" button.

Re: Bug in MulRunFitter patch from Aaron Luchko

Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 8:10 am
by hines
Ironically, the "|| Optimize" button was never supposed to be showing but was testing
a long obsolete value for pc.nhost. This has been fixed,
http://www.neuron.yale.edu/hg/neuron/nr ... 0a186b8173

If you can get that button to show again, then it will be time to fix any bugs that crept in
during the evolution of the MPI version. Of course, if you are running in batch mode
and have called MulRunFitter.paropt() (hard to do directly since it is not public)
it would also raise the problem to a higher position on my stack of things to do.

Re: Bug in MulRunFitter patch from Aaron Luchko

Posted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:52 pm
by Keivan
Dear My friend
your patch did not fixed the problem. I will send you the simulation to see it for yourself.
news: this problem did not exist in my windows laptop.