Can I import channels into CellBuilder?

Using the graphical user interface to build and exercise models. Includes customizing the GUI by writing a little bit of hoc.

Can I import channels into CellBuilder?

Postby bwjmbb17 » Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:06 pm

Hey guys,

I am new to CellBuilder and I was curious if there was a way to import channels into the GUI so that I could have more channels than just pas, extracellular, and hh? The reason I am asking is that I want to try to automate the process of building a cell with as many compartments and channels as the user wants without the user having to code anything. This is so that users with little to no experience can create single cell models easily.

Thanks,
bwjmbb17
bwjmbb17
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:09 am

Re: Can I import channels into CellBuilder?

Postby ted » Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:16 pm

Whatever mechanisms NEURON loads when it starts will appear automatically in all relevant GUI tools, such as the PointProcessManager and CellBuilder. If you have some particular mechanisms that you want to be available, put their mod files in a particular directory, compile them, and thereafter start NEURON in that directory. If instead NEURON is started in some other directory, cd to the directory that contains the compiled mechanisms and execute
nrn_load_dll() (see Programmer's Reference entry
https://www.neuron.yale.edu/neuron/static/new_doc/programming/system.html?highlight=load_dll#nrn_load_dll)
ted
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5052
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Yale University School of Medicine

Re: Can I import channels into CellBuilder?

Postby bwjmbb17 » Wed Aug 23, 2017 10:29 am

Thanks,
Brenyn
bwjmbb17
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:09 am


Return to The GUI

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest