Myelinated Nerve with Extracellular Potential

Anything that doesn't fit elsewhere.
Matte

Myelinated Nerve with Extracellular Potential

Post by Matte »

Hey all,
first of all, thanks a lot for the great forum, I have been reading for quite some time now, and got pretty far with my model, and just have a few question left. My model is basically the model of the myelinated nerve by McIntyre 2002 () for which I added an extracellular potential to excite the nerve. I am using the python interface to set up all the parameters of the fiber, node number, electrical properties and so on, and implemented a matlab-python interface to be able to call the Neuron solver from Matlab, nothing really fancy...
The model works right now, but I just wanted to make sure that I have implemented everything correctly, because I am relatively new to the field of modelling nerve fibers.

1. Setting up the extracelluar potential:
After having declared a couple of parameters, I am basically performing the following lines of codes to create and connect the different segments of the nerve fiber. This is done in python using the h("statement") approach.

Code: Select all

for i=0,axonnodes-1 {
		node[i]{					
			nseg=1
			diam=nodeD
			L=nodelength
			Ra=rhoa/10000
			cm=2
			insert axnode			
			insert extracellular xraxial=Rpn0 xg=1e10 xc=0
			}
		}
	for i=0, paranodes1-1 {
		MYSA[i]{
			nseg=1
			diam=fiberD
			L=paralength1
			Ra=rhoa*(1/(paraD1/fiberD)^2)/10000
			cm=2*paraD1/fiberD
			insert pas
			g_pas=0.001*paraD1/fiberD		
			e_pas=-80
			insert extracellular xraxial=Rpn1 xg=mygm/(nl*2) xc=mycm/(nl*2)
			}
	}
	for i=0, paranodes2-1 {
		FLUT[i]{
			nseg=1
			diam=fiberD
			L=paralength2
			Ra=rhoa*(1/(paraD2/fiberD)^2)/10000
			cm=2*paraD2/fiberD
			insert pas
			g_pas=0.0001*paraD2/fiberD		
			e_pas=-80
			insert extracellular xraxial=Rpn2 xg=mygm/(nl*2) xc=mycm/(nl*2)
			}
	}
	for i=0, axoninter-1 {
		STIN[i]{
			nseg=1
			diam=fiberD
			L=interlength