extracellular stimulation

Anything that doesn't fit elsewhere.
didu_20

extracellular stimulation

Post by didu_20 » Sat Jun 29, 2013 5:06 pm

one very important favour i am a trainee and i have to simulate extracellular stimuation by an electrode in retinal gnglion cells.please please help me and give me some links .programs or material and stuff.
what all concepts should i know to do that??
i have read the neuron book twice and even gone through your extracellular stimulation and recording zip file but i cnt figure out some things-
1) in the file calcrxc.hoc from this equation - for (x,0) {
r = sqrt((x_xtra(x) - xe)^2 + (y_xtra(x) - ye)^2 + (z_xtra(x) - ze)^2)
what is rx and r ?? are they different?
2) in interpxyz i have not understood how to coordinates of nodes have been calculated from this part - // initialize the destination "independent" vector

Code: Select all

range = new Vector(nseg+2)
		range.indgen(1/nseg)
		range.sub(1/(2*nseg))
		range.x[0]=0
		range.x[nseg+1]=1
and this too -

yint.interpolate(range, length, yy)
zint.interpolate(range, length, zz)
i read about these functions but cnt interpret how they are working here.
3) i read about vector.play but i cnt understand this - vsrc.play(point_process_object, &var, ...) because of that i cnt understand this function in stim.hoc - stim_amp.play(&is_xtra, stim_time, 1)
4) THE BIGGEST PROBLEM IS i read from readme that to run it first complie the xtra file then run initstim and initrec. But when i complie xtra.mod file i shows this ERROR
gcc -DDLL_EXPORT -DPIC -I/src/scopmath -I/src/nrnoc -I/src/oc -I/lib -I/gccinc -I/gcc3inc -L/gcclib -c mod_func.c
mod_func.c: In function ‘modl_reg’:
mod_func.c:16:1: error: ‘_’ undeclared (first use in this function)
mod_func.c:16:1: note: each undeclared identifier is reported only once for each function it appears in
mod_func.c:16:2: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘~’ token
/lib/mknrndll.mak:65: recipe for target `mod_func.o' failed
make: *** [mod_func.o] Error 1