Trying to use VecStim

Anything that doesn't fit elsewhere.
pascal

Trying to use VecStim

Post by pascal »

I started learning how to implement VecStim by checking out the vecevent* files in nrn\examples\nrniv\netcon. I found that when I simply typed load_file("vecevent.ses"), it caused NEURON to crash almost instantly, so that I didn't even have time to read the error that was generated. I am running NEURON 7.2 on a Windows 7 PC. Thanks.
ted
Site Admin

Re: Trying to use VecStim

Post by ted »

Did you compile vecevent.mod first? Proper usage of the vecevent* files in nrn/examples/nrniv/netcon requires that you first use mknrndll (or nrnivmodl if you're using UNIX/Linux) to compile the mod file. If you omit this step, the VecStim class will not exist.

After vecevent.mod has been compiled, then use NEURON to execute vecevent.hoc. If you simply start NEURON, then
load_file("vecevent.ses")
there will be no error message, and clicking on the RunControl panel's Init & Run button will produce no error message, but there will be no spike train. vecevent.hoc contains statements that create a Vector, fill it with event times, and tell the VecStim instance to generate events at the times specified in the Vector.
pascal

Post by pascal »

Thanks, Ted, that seemed to work. I guess I just didn't think to compile the mod file, since when I use netstim.mod I don't need to compile it. Also, there are many other times when I receive an error and the program crashes without allowing me to read the error message--is there any way to prevent this in general? Thanks.
ted
Site Admin

Post by ted »

pascal wrote:Thanks, Ted, that seemed to work. I guess I just didn't think to compile the mod file, since when I use netstim.mod I don't need to compile it.