Maximum dt

Anything that doesn't fit elsewhere.
QCaudron

Maximum dt

Post by QCaudron »

Hello,

I'm running a few performance tests using Neuron, with the important factor being dt. I manage to reduce dt (by factors of two only, apparently) from the default 0.025, down to 0.0125 and further, but I can't seem to go any higher than 0.025 ms. Is there some restriction or something I'm missing ? Please note I'm still very new to Neuron !

While on the topic, can I ask what kind of PDE solver methods Neuron uses ?

Thank you very much,
Quentin
ted
Site Admin

Re: Maximum dt

Post by ted »

QCaudron wrote:I'm running a few performance tests using Neuron, with the important factor being dt. I manage to reduce dt (by factors of two only, apparently)
Not quite. A correct statement would be "you can reduce dt by whole number factors".

NEURON's standard run system has two parameters that affect fixed time step integration:
dt, which is the time step used by the numerical integrator, and steps_per_ms, which controls the intervals at which points are plotted. The standard run system's run() procedure calls another procedure setdt(), which forces dt to be compatible with steps_per_ms. setdt() ensures that dt = 1/(N*steps_per_ms) where N = 1, 2, 3 . . .
While on the topic, can I ask what kind of PDE solver methods Neuron uses ?