Could neuron be installed on Windows/MacOS through the command line?

Anything that doesn't fit elsewhere.
Post Reply
RobinDS
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2019 12:17 pm

Could neuron be installed on Windows/MacOS through the command line?

Post by RobinDS » Sat Nov 23, 2019 7:12 pm

Is there a possibility to install NEURON in a Windows/MacOS environment that doesn't have a GUI? Specifically Travis CI.

ted
Site Admin
Posts: 5647
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Yale University School of Medicine
Contact:

Re: Could neuron be installed on Windows/MacOS through the command line?

Post by ted » Mon Nov 25, 2019 1:13 pm

For MacOS the answer is: install from source code. In principle, that should also be doable under MSWin.

ramcdougal
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 3:38 pm
Location: Yale School of Public Health

Re: Could neuron be installed on Windows/MacOS through the command line?

Post by ramcdougal » Mon Nov 25, 2019 1:36 pm

We have two active projects that may be of interest to you:

(1) pip installable wheels at https://github.com/neuronsimulator/nrn/ ... tuppy/dist
  • Important: this is a work in progress. At this writing, neither nrnivmodl nor the GUI work. If you don't need those though, you should be good. (The nrnivmodl issue is due to hardcoded paths, so one could make a short script to patch the files so this works on TravisCI.)
  • for usage, see e.g. https://colab.research.google.com/drive ... xMode=true
(2) Streamlining the Windows compilation process in the cmake branch.

Post Reply