Transition from serial simulation to parallel

General issues of interest both for network and
individual cell parallelization.

Moderator: hines

Sergey Aleksin

Transition from serial simulation to parallel

Post by Sergey Aleksin »

Hello everybody,

I'm new to NEURON, but I know that the software can in some cases conduct simulation in parallel even though the code was developed for serial case. The only thing required is proper setting options in GUI. The questions are:
1) What number of threads should be specified in Tools->Parallel Computing if I'm going to run simulation on a cluster with multi-core CPUs? Should I provide any hostfile with names of cluster nodes and number of CPUs per node?
2) Should I tweak settings in menu points Tools->Point Processes and Tools->Distributed Mechanisms in order to transfer from serial simulation to parallel?
3) Where can I find any documentation for the menu points?
4) Is it possible to adjust the software to use only processes (but not threads) to overcome the "<name> is not thread safe" error?

Thanks in advance,
Sergey
ted
Site Admin

Re: Transition from serial simulation to parallel

Post by ted »

Actually, NEURON can be used for three different styles of parallel simulation. The first question is which of these is most appropriate for the particular modeling project.

1. Multithreaded simulation. This is most suitable for complex models of individual cells--where there are at least several thousand states that need to be integrated. It's very easy to implement, since the only requirement is that biophysical mechanisms be "thread safe". Basically this means avoiding situations in which code in different threads tries to write to the same global variable. In most cases the user's original code can be used without having to make any changes at all; in those occasions when changes are necessary, it is often sufficient to simply insert the directive
THREADSAFE