When Python is the interpreter, what is a good
design for the interface to the basic NEURON
concepts.

Moderator: hines

subash774

Modelling a chain of HH cell with myelinated axon

Post by subash774 »

Hi,
I am a Masters student of Computer Science working on a neuroscience project (completely new to neuroscience). My project is to model nodes of Ranvier (following HH cell dynamics) with myelinated axons to observe the effects of length of the myelin sheath.

I am trying to use NEURON+Python for this. Although I understand the chaining and dynamics of HH and Passive cable, myelinated axon seems to be more accurately modelled by extracellular. So the question is, how do I model a simple myelin sheath using extracellular properties?

Code: Select all

Params : {
    Myelin resistance (R_m): MOhms/mm
    Myelin capacitance: pF/mm
    longitudinal resistance: MOhms/mm
    resting potential
    length and diameter of the cable
}
Thanks a lot for your help in advance.
ted
Site Admin

Re: Modelling a chain of HH cell with myelinated axon

Post by ted »

This is written for general readership, so please excuse explicit discussion of much that you probably already know.

The first and most important step in any modeling project is to develop a clear conceptual model. I will assume you want a model of an unbranched myelinated axon--a series of nodes of Ranvier alternating with myelinated internodes. Decide what you want the axon to start and end with--the first part could be either a node or internode; ditto for the last. I would probably have a node at each end.