How to access i_cap from Python

When Python is the interpreter, what is a good
design for the interface to the basic NEURON
concepts.

Moderator: hines

Post Reply
bhalterm
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 10:43 am
Location: University of Pennsylvania

How to access i_cap from Python

Post by bhalterm » Thu Mar 01, 2012 5:21 pm

How do I get access to the i_cap variable from the Python interpreter?

I tried

Code: Select all

hoc.secname.i_cap
and

Code: Select all

hoc.secname(0.5).i_cap
but neither work. The equivalent statements with "cm" work fine.

hines
Site Admin
Posts: 1576
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 3:32 pm

Re: How to access i_cap from Python

Post by hines » Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:11 am

My mistake. i_cap is a special name not derived from the mechanism names and needs to be added to the
list of such range variable names that are to be available from Python. See
http://www.neuron.yale.edu/hg/neuron/nr ... 0c15acdfb5
for the one line fix assuming you are building NEURON from sources. If you need an installer, from
http://www.neuron.yale.edu/ftp/neuron/versions/alpha/
let me know which you need and I'll put one there.

bhalterm
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2006 10:43 am
Location: University of Pennsylvania

Re: How to access i_cap from Python

Post by bhalterm » Fri Mar 02, 2012 8:09 am

I'm building from source, so I'm all set. Thanks!

Post Reply