can't set global_ra

When Python is the interpreter, what is a good
design for the interface to the basic NEURON
concepts.

Moderator: hines

Post Reply
vellamike

can't set global_ra

Post by vellamike » Fri Dec 10, 2010 7:06 am

Quick question: Why does a python program consisting of just:

Code: Select all

from neuron import h
testsection=h.Section()
h.global_ra=150
give the following error:

Code: Select all

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "test.py", line 2, in <module>
    h.global_ra=150
LookupError: 'global_ra' is not a defined hoc variable name.

ted
Site Admin
Posts: 5534
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Yale University School of Medicine
Contact:

Re: can't set global_ra

Post by ted » Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:27 am

Works fine on my machine with NEURON 7.2 (476:3ad72b90db90) 2010-11-02 under Linux.
I don't even have to create a section, and h.global_ra exists.
What version of NEURON are you using?

vellamike

Re: can't set global_ra

Post by vellamike » Fri Dec 10, 2010 10:56 am

I am using NEURON release 7.1 and Python Python 2.6.5 on Ubuntu.

vellamike

Re: can't set global_ra

Post by vellamike » Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:04 am

here is some output from my interpreter:

Code: Select all

>>> from neuron import h
NEURON -- Release 7.1 (359:7f113b76a94b) 2009-10-26
Duke, Yale, and the BlueBrain Project -- Copyright 1984-2008
See http://www.neuron.yale.edu/credits.html

>>> h.global_ra
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
AttributeError: 'hoc.HocObject' object has no attribute 'global_ra'
>>> 

ted
Site Admin
Posts: 5534
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: Yale University School of Medicine
Contact:

Re: can't set global_ra

Post by ted » Fri Dec 10, 2010 7:44 pm

vellamike wrote:I am using NEURON release 7.1 and Python Python 2.6.5 on Ubuntu.
Try 7.2 and see if that doesn't fix the problem.

Post Reply