When Python is the interpreter, what is a good
design for the interface to the basic NEURON
concepts.

Moderator: hines

breynaert

Segfault + question

Post by breynaert »

Hi everbody,

I am just learning about NEURON so please bear with me.

I am looking for a way to keep references to segments and made the following observation,
which might be helpful to other Python programmers, as NEURON behaves different from
usual Python modules:

Code: Select all

soma = Section()
segments = soma.allseg()
But you store in segments a reference to the section, not a list of segments.

As I am very stubborn, I then tried

segments = [seg for seg in soma.allseg()]
Apparently, what you get is not a list with all the segments of the section but a list of references
to the same segment. This is probably because of the hoc concept of <currently accessed object>.
This time I tought I could trick Python + NEURON so typed:

segments = soma.allseg
So later I could access segments()

but this failed, revealing that allseg returns a reference to the section itself, which is in turn iterable,
but not subscriptable. I think it would be useful to be able to access the segments at will without having
to calculate the x value for it, so I came up with this final statement:

from copy import copy
segments = [copy(seg) for seg in soma.allseg()]

But trying to use the segments results in a segfault, which, as far as I understand is never desired.

Here is a sample code which will segfault on Python 2.6.5 and NEURON 7.1

from neuron import *
from nrn import *
from copy import copy

soma = Section()
segments = [copy(seg) for seg in soma.allseg()]
vectors = []

for seg in segments:
   vector = h.Vector()
   vector.record(seg._ref_v)
   vectors.append(vector)
I hope this is useful, and maybe you can suggest a way to store the segments? I think it would increase
the Pythonic feel of the bindings.

Regards

Bryan
hines
Site Admin

Re: Segfault + question

Post by hines »