Rectifying Gap Junctions without using Linear Circuit Builder?

NMODL and the Channel Builder.
varmaalok22

Rectifying Gap Junctions without using Linear Circuit Builder?

Post by varmaalok22 »

Hello,

I am relatively new to NEURON and am trying to use NEURON to model mixed synapses (i.e. both gap junctions and chemical synapses at the same site). The experimental model I’m using is the Mauthner neuron of the zebrafish, for which a model exists in ModelDB (https://senselab.med.yale.edu/ModelDB/S ... del=232813).

I have been running simulations (a parameter sweep, essentially) with gap junctions as defined in the NEURON book (using point processes and pointers). However, to be more accurate, I need to revise my model to make the connection a rectifying gap junction. I have tried the Linear Circuit Builder example from the 2008 NEURON course, which works on my computer. But when I tried to take the rgap.mod file and compile it in order to make a “gap” section in my code as done in the LCB2 example, the “insert rgap” statement throws an error. I tried exporting the gap section from the LCB2 Cell Builder as hoc code which I copied into my own code. That threw the same error. I tried adding the SUFFIX rgap statement to the mod file, just to test if it was a nomenclature issue, and that didn’t help either.

I have also spent a couple of hours trying to write (read hack) a point process and pointers based code for a rectifying gap junction, using the equation I = g_el * G_rect * (v_pre – v_post), where G_rect is an approximation of the step function (G_rect = 1/(1+exp(v_post – v_pre)). Since my model only has 2 neurons, I thought I could define two classes – one for pre and the other for post, and set the equations appropriately, so that charge is conserved. I could give you more details about what I did, but suffice to say for now that it did not work.