Models Without Spatial Data

The basics of how to develop, test, and use models.
brewcrw90

Models Without Spatial Data

Post by brewcrw90 »

I have a model that I put together in XPP and I am in the process of inputting this model into NEURON. I am new to NEURON and I am rather confused about spatial settings (L and Diam). The model that I have does not have this data as it is a theoretical model. Is it possible to input models into NEURON without taking into account L and Diam?

I am rather new to this forum so please let me know if I posted this in the wrong section. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

J
ted
Site Admin

Re: Models Without Spatial Data

Post by ted »

Need a little more information. Is this a completely abstract model, e.g. an artificial spiking cell with an "activation" state variable with a rest value of 0 and spike threshold of 1? A model of chemical reactions that occur in a well stirred volume? A model of channel gating? A single compartment model of a neuron that involves membrane capacitance and ionic currents? Or something else altogether? If it's a model that has already been published somewhere, the citation of the article would give me the information I need.
brewcrw90

Post by brewcrw90 »

Thank you for the fast reply. The title of the paper that contains the model we are working with is: Distributed Neural Network Model for the Distinct roles of Medial and Lateral HVC in Zebra Finch Song Production. The link to the paper is as follows: https://www.math.fsu.edu/~bertram/paper ... JNP_17.pdf
ted
Site Admin

Post by ted »

Please answer yes or no: is the citation
Galvis D, Wu W, Hyson RL, Johnson F, Bertram R.
A distributed neural network model for the distinct roles of medial and lateral HVC in zebra finch song production.
J Neurophysiol. 118:677-692, 2017
?