Please recommend a book about simplification of detailed neuron models for the simulation of large networks

The basics of how to develop, test, and use models.
vogdb

Please recommend a book about simplification of detailed neuron models for the simulation of large networks

Post by vogdb »

Hi! I'm a beginner in this field. Can you please suggest a good book that explains and shows on examples how to simplify detailed neuron models for using in large networks? I have some questions, which I would be glad to be answered.
- What type of neuron is better to pick? Integrate-And-Fire? Rate-coded?
- How to translate axon/dendrite dimensions into delays, time constants etc?
- How different types of channels influence the choice? Would be there any difference if I use a simple HH model when I have various voltage and calcium dependent channels?
- How to replace an electrode? Form the experiment a have an exact data of voltage and current for my electrode. What the electrode should be translated into? Some generator?

I understand that the purpose of my simplified model defines my choice. So I am asking for materials where I can learn how to answer those questions when I'm simplifying.

I see some books like "Principles of computational modelling in Neuroscience" or "From single neurons to networks" and others. What would be the best choice for me?
ted
Site Admin

Re: Please recommend a book about simplification of detailed neuron models for the simulation of large networks

Post by ted »