Conduction Velocity & spikes' characteristics recording

The basics of how to develop, test, and use models.
makrseke

Conduction Velocity & spikes' characteristics recording

Post by makrseke »

Dear all,

I am very new at programming in hoc language so please bear with me if what I ask feels very basic. I have managed to model a neural cell (single cell in the Ball and Stick configuration, with myelinated compartments and a separate section for the AIS node, but no dendrites). On this single cell, I wish to test several things. One is the conduction velocity changes when I change certain parameters (i.e. capacitance, conductance, etc). To do so however, I need to obtain the characteristics of the Action Potentials (APs) in order to later calculate the conduction velocity. Such characteristics are:

(i) Magnitude of the peak of the spikes at the specified recording location,
(ii) Timing that reaches the peaks,

Personal Approach:
I read about NetCon but this requires to have synaptic inputs, which I don't (stimulation is given via an IClamp point process, at the center of the soma), so I do not think I can use the NetCon.record() method to pick the signal. At least not if I understood the NetCon correctly. Thus, I was considering of using the vector.record() like this:

Code: Select all

stim_pos = 0.5  // stimulation site at the soma with an IClamp
pos1 = 1 // at the soma
pos2 = 1 // at the axon
objref recvol1, rectim1, recvol2, rectim2
proc APstimVT() {           // Get voltage AP-value and timing of peak-reaching

// First point
      recvol1 = new Vector() 
      rectim1 = new Vector()
      rectim1.record(&t)
      soma recvol1.record(&soma.v(pos1),rectim1)
      APpeak1 = recvol1.max()
      APpeak1_index = recvol1.max_ind()
      print "The max voltage is = ", APpeak1, " [mV]"

APpeakTime1 = rectim1.get(APpeak1_index) // has a problem with out-of range values