Page 1 of 1

Error using nc.record

Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 1:55 pm
by Krishna Chaitanya
Hi,
I was using nc.record function for artificial neuron models. Where I simulated 30 neurons, there is no error but when I increased to 31, it pops up an error:
"abandon when t==qthresh_->t_="
Segmentation violation
CVode[0].use_daspk(1)
NumericalMethodPanel[0]. isdaspk()
NumericalMethodPanel [0].restore(411,2)

I can't understand why the error for connect2target and nc.recoed functions.

Kindly help.

Thank you.

Re: Error using nc.record

Posted: Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:37 pm
by ted
What version of NEURON are you using (what is the first line that NEURON prints to its interpreter window when it starts)?
Will also need the source code for your model, especially if you are using something other than the artificial spiking cell types that are built into NEURON.
Please zip up all hoc, py, mod, and ses files that are needed to recreate your model and email them to
ted dot carnevale at yale dot edu

Re: Error using nc.record

Posted: Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:06 am
by Krishna Chaitanya
Hi Ted,

I am using NEURON 7.4 for all my simulations.

I am sending the compressed code to your email.

Kindly let me know where I'm going wrong in my coding.

Thanks.

Re: Error using nc.record

Posted: Mon Nov 06, 2017 4:37 pm
by ted
I haven't seen any email from you yet.

Re: Error using nc.record

Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 11:55 pm
by Krishna Chaitanya
Dear Ted,

I have sent you the email with the code on Nov 3 but I am not sure why it isn't delivered. And I found the error in the code after going through several posts in NEURON forum and rectified it. It resulted mainly due to faulty conductance value.

Thanks a million for your kind help and response.

Question: Is there a way to modify values of a spiking neuron model during simulation? From the hoc, I have tried changing values of the spiking neuron mod file at 200 ms but it doesn't take it.

Kindly let me know

Re: Error using nc.record

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2017 9:56 pm
by ted
You could use Vector play to drive the parameter in question, especially if you want to make a lot of changes or implement continuous variation of a parameter. If you're only doing a few parameter changes that occur at just a handful of times, you could use events--see
Using events to implement parameter changes during a run
in the Forum's Hot tips area.