BK channels in CA1 pyramidal neurons

The basics of how to develop, test, and use models.
beginner123

BK channels in CA1 pyramidal neurons

Post by beginner123 »

Hello. I would like input on which direction I should take. I would like to do do manipulations on BK channels in CA1 pyramidal neurons based on some electrophysiological experiments my lab has done/will do. I am a beginner at NEURON though I do have a strong background in programming. I see two outcomes. The first is finding a model "in the wild". The second is taking a model that is similar enough to what we want to do and add the extra functionality.

Regarding the first approach:
I started off looking at some literature a past labmate provided. However, neither Gu et al (2007) nor Siskova et al (2014) have source code publicly available and Siskova et al does not implement BK functionality in their model anyway. I also combed through the ModelDB database. I found some that were promising. However, I have yet to find a model that implements exactly what I would like (CA1 pyramidal neuron with BK channel functionality) and I tried using the native search function as well as google dorking.

Regarding the second approach:
I was able to find some models through the site that looked really close to what we wanted but weren't ideal: Almog and Korngreen (2014) (implements a neocortical pyramidal neuron with BK channel functionality), Bianchi et al (2012) (CA1 pyramidal neuron with no BK functionality). Shao et al (1999) would be ideal but I cannot seem to find source code online.

In the event I had to extend the native functionality of the model, I would like guidance on how to go about it. I have poured through source code from other neuronal types. Some implement BK channels in three states (open->inactivated->closed), some implement channels with two states (open->close) or even one. I have been searching for a good tutorial kind of like the one for the subthalamic neuron MIT has.

Thanks
ted
Site Admin